2002 ACM SIGPLAN and IFIP WG 1.7
Workshop on Issues in the Theory of Security (WITS'02)
Portland, Oregon, USA, January 14-15, 2002
Preceding  POPL'02


The IFIP WG 1.7 on "Theoretical Foundations of Security Analysis and Design" was established to investigate the theoretical foundations of security, discovering and promoting new areas of application of theoretical techniques in computer security and supporting the systematic use of formal techniques in the development of security related applications. The members of WG hold their annual workshop as an open event to which all researchers working on the theory of computer security are invited. This is the second workshop, and the first sponsored by ACM SIGPLAN. The first workshop, WITS'00, was held in Geneva in July 2000.
The program will encourage discussions by all attendees, both during and after scheduled presentations on participants' ongoing work. Extended abstracts of work presented at the Workshop will be collected and distributed to the participants. As in 2000, there will be no formally published proceedings of this year's workshop; however, selected papers will be invited for submission to a special issue of the Journal of Computer Security based on the Workshop.
  Suggested submission topics included:

Important Dates

Paper Submission: 21 September 2001
Author Notification: 26 October 2001
Early Registration Rates till: 26 December 2001
Hotel Rooms and Rates Guaranteed till: 27 December 2001
Workshop: 14-15 January 2002

Program and Registration

Chairs and Program Committee

General Chair: Paul Syverson, Naval Research Lab,

Program Chair: Joshua Guttman The MITRE Corporation,

Program Committee Members:
Pierpaolo Degano,  Università di Pisa
Riccardo Focardi,  Università di Venezia
Dieter Gollmann,  Microsoft Research
Li Gong,  JavaSoft, Sun Microsystems
Roberto Gorrieri,  Università di Bologna
Joshua Guttman (chair),  MITRE
Cathy Meadows,  Naval Research Laboratory
Jon Millen,  SRI International
Peter Ryan,  SEI, Carnegie Mellon
Steve Schneider,  Royal Holloway, University of London
Paul Syverson,  Naval Research Laboratory