19th IEEE Computer Security Foundations Workshop

5-7 July 2006

S. Servolo island, Venice - Italy

Technical Program

TUESDAY, 4 July 2006

19:00 - 21:00

Welcome Buffet

WEDNESDAY, 5 July 2006

9:00 - 9:05

Riccardo Focardi (University of Venice), General Chair
Joshua Guttman (The MITRE Corporation), Program Chair

9:05 - 10:35

Information flow
Session Chair: Andrei Sabelfeld

Marieke Huisman, Pratik Worah, Kim Sunesen
A temporal logic characterisation of observational determinism

Peng Li, Steve Zdancewic
Encoding Information Flow in Haskell

Stephanie Delaune, Steve Kremer and Mark Ryan
Coercion-resistance and Receipt-freeness in Electronic Voting

10:35 - 11:00


11:00 - 12:30

Games, Plans, and Transformations
Session Chair: Matthew Hennessy

Shai Rubin, Somesh Jha, Barton P. Miller
On the Completeness of Attack Mutation Algorithms

Massimo Bartoletti, Pierpaolo Degano, Gian Luigi Ferrari
Types and Effects for Secure Service Orchestration

Krishnendu Chatterjee, Radha Jagadeesan, Corin Pitcher
Games for Controls

12:30 - 14:00


14:00 - 16:00

Access Control
Session Chair: Sandro Etalle

Michael J. May, Carl A. Gunter, Insup Lee
Privacy APIs: Access Control Techniques to Analyze and Verify Legal Privacy Policies

Jason Crampton, Keith Martin, Peter Wild
On Key Assignment for Hierarchical Access Control

Avik Chaudhuri, Martin Abadi
Secrecy by Typing and File-Access Control

Amit Sasturkar, Ping Yang, Scott D. Stoller, C.R. Ramakrishnan
Policy Analysis for Administrative Role Based Access Control

16:00 – 16:30


16:30 – 17:45

Five minute talks
Session Chair: Joshua Guttman

go to the five minute talks detailed program

17:45 - 18:30

Business meeting

Free time for tours and dinner in Venice

THURSDAY, 6 July 2006

9:00 - 10:30

Security Protocol Analysis
Session Chair:
David Basin

Karthikeyan Bhargavan, Cedric Fournet, Andrew D. Gordon, Stephen Tse
Verified Interoperable Implementations of Security Protocols

Christoph Sprenger, Michael Backes, David Basin, Birgit Pfitzmann, Michael Waidner Cryptographically Sound Theorem Proving

Aybek Mukhamedov and Mark Ryan
Resolve-Impossibility for a Contract-Signing Protocol

10:30 - 11:00


11:00 - 12:30

Language, interaction, and change
Session Chair: Michael Backes

Alejandro Russo and Andrei Sabelfeld
Securing Interaction between Threads and the Scheduler

Kevin R. O'Neill, Michael R. Clarkson, Stephen Chong
Information-Flow Security for Interactive Programs

Nikhil Swamy, Michael Hicks, Steve Zdancewic, Stephen Tse
Managing Policy Updates in Security-Typed Languages

12:30 - 14:00


14:00 – 15:30

Language, obfuscation, and robustness
Session Chair:
Andre Scedrov

Daniel Hedin, David Sands
Noninterference in the presence of non-opaque pointers

Riccardo Pucella and Fred B. Schneider
Independence From Obfuscation: A Semantic Framework for Diversity

Stephen Chong and Andrew C. Myers
Decentralized Robustness

15:30 - 16:00


16:00 - 17:30

Panel: Nondeterminism in Security Modeling
Chair: Mark Ryan

Panelists: Ran Canetti, Daniele Micciancio, John Mitchell, Catuscia Palamidessi, Birgit Pfitzmann, Roberto Segala

19:30 - 23:30

Social Dinner at Venice Lido

(Boat leaving from S. Servolo at 19:30 and back to Venice and then S. Servolo at about 23:30)

FRIDAY, 7 July 2006

9:00 – 10:30

Authorization and Trust
Session Chair:
Andrew Gordon

Miranda Mowbray, Antonio Lain
Distributed authorization using delegation with acyclic paths

Hongbin Zhou and Simon Foley
A Framework for Establishing Decentralized Secure Coalitions

Deepak Garg and Frank Pfenning
Non-interference in constructive authorization logic

10:30 – 11:00


11:00 – 12:30

Protocols and Cryptographic Foundations
Session Chair: Ran Canetti

Kim-Kwang Raymond Choo
Refuting Claimed Security Proofs for Tripartite Key Exchange with Model Checker

Ralf Kuesters
Simulation-Based Security with Inexhaustible Interactive Turing Machines

Anupam Datta and Ante Derek and John C. Mitchell and Bogdan Warinschi
Computationally Sound Compositional Logic for Key Exchange Protocols

12:30 – 12:45

Closing remarks. Presentation of awards

12:45 – 14:30